Fuzzy_Freddy.jpg
 

fur free berkeley

take a stand against cruelty

 

This is totally unnecessary.

In the day of countless varieties of adequate fabrics, there is no need for this brutal industry.

West Hollywood, California has already banned fur. The ban was successfully defended in court. There are similar campaigns for other places, including Los Angeles and Israel. Several countries in Europe have banned fur production entirely.

Unlike West Hollywood, virtually no Berkeley businesses sponsor the fur industry's exploitation. The proposed law would ensure they never do.

Over 30 million animals are killed for their fur every year.

Minks, foxes, and rabbits on fur farms are often confined in cages barely bigger than their bodies.

Animals on fur farms often live through intense stress, distressed and repetitive movement, self-mutilation, and even cannibalism. Finally, they are killed through brutal means, often electrocution.

Fur farms are big polluters of water systems with phosphorus and often use 15x the amount of energy as competing materials.

 

Berkeley is progressive.

Berkeley has historically been a hub for social movements and one of the most progressive cities in US history.

It's time for Berkeley to be progressive for everyone who can feel.

Mayor Jesse Arreguin
(510) 981-7100
mayor@CityofBerkeley.info

Linda Maio, District 1
(510) 981-7110
lmaio@CityofBerkeley.info

Cheryl Davila, District 2
(510) 981-7120
cdavila@CityofBerkeley.info

Ben Bartlett, District 3
(510) 981-7130
bbartlett@CityofBerkeley.info

Sophie Hahn, District 5
(510) 981-7150
shahn@CityofBerkeley.info

Susan Wengraf, District 6
(510) 981-7160
swengraf@CityofBerkeley.info

Kriss Worthington, District 7
(510) 981-7170
kworthington@CityofBerkeley.info

Lori Droste, District 8
(510) 981-7180
ldroste@CityofBerkeley.info

The City Council is considering a ban on the sale of fur in Berkeley.

Let’s make sure it passes!

The newly elected city council has promised to be progressive. Mayor Jesse Arreguín has promised to "lead a movement to change the direction of our country in four years."

The City Council needs our encouragement to see animal rights as a progressive issue.

Please contact the City Council and encourage them to vote for the fur ban.

See: council district locator

My name is ___ and I live in District _. I’m calling to urge Councilmember ___ to ban the sale of fur in Berkeley.

Please sign our Change.org petition urging the Council to take action.

supporters

Community Groups

Notable Individuals